T Levels are new two-year courses equivalent to three levels, which will be available to students in England from September 2020.

T Levels are based on the same standards as apprenticeships, designed by employers, and will offer around 1,800 hours of study over two years. This will include a 45-day work placement, so T Levels will be more suited to students who know what occupation or industry they want to move into.

T Levels include compulsory elements:

  • a technical qualification that includes core skills, theory, and concepts for the industry area
  • specialist occupational skills and knowledge of the career
  • an industry placement with an employer
  • a minimum standard in maths and English, if students haven’t already achieved this

How are T Levels graded?

Students who complete a T Level will receive an overall grade of pass, merit, distinction or distinction* and will be awarded a nationally recognised certificate showing a breakdown of what they’ve achieved. It will also confirm that a student has met the minimum requirements for maths and English qualifications.

Are T Levels included in the UCAS Tariff?

Students who want to progress into higher education will be able to see how UCAS Tariff points are allocated to their T Level. They must achieve at least an overall pass grade to receive Tariff points, as set out below:


UCAS Tariff points

T Level overall grade  

A Level


Distinction* (A* on the core and distinction in the occupational specialism)









Pass (C or above on the core)



Pass (D or E on the core)


What T Level subjects are available?

The first three T Levels available to start in September 2020 will be:

  • digital production, design and development
  • design, surveying and planning
  • education

View the accredited providers who have been approved to deliver these first three T Levels. 

From autumn 2021, T Levels will also be available in:

  • building services engineering
  • digital business services
  • digital support and services
  • health
  • healthcare science
  • onsite construction
  • science

Additional providers will be approved to deliver T Levels from September 2021. More T Levels will be available from Autumn 2022